3.0 legacy RC2 - a couple of relevant issues

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 stupenDOS

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 November 2014 - 09:22 PM

Hallo all.
I'm a newbie of Linux, I met Bodhi 2.4 short time ago and it was a nice surprise: you all guys did a really good job and I enjoy using Bodhi.

To make useful again a N450 Acer netbook, I've installed 3.0 RC1 first, but e19 is too slow.
3.0 RC2 e17, instead, runs smoothly, anyway I had to move back to 2.4 due to a couple of issues I tried to solve with no success.

#1: econnman is totally unstable. Spent lot of time trying to configure, connect, reboot, scan, launch from terminal, etc.
Each connection lasts a few seconds or a little more. No chance to use the internet.

#2: I'm sure it is up to me, but I'm unable to configure the keyboard. I didn't find keyboard settings, and during installation the option for different keyboards didn't appear (or, if it appears, it doesn't work - I don't remember for sure). It has been fun to search the position of US keys...

It was just to give a small participation in a great project.

A big thank you to everyone who contributes to Bodhi Linux

#2 Deepspeed

Sir Creeps-a-lot

• Developer
  • 599 posts

Posted 22 November 2014 - 06:48 AM

The problem with e19 being slow on some types of processors isn't new. That's why the legacy version will use e17 from now on.

For your keyboard settings, go to start > settings > modules, then scroll down to the keyboard module, select it, and hit apply. It should appear on the shelf. Click the module on the shelf and go to settings. Then click add and select the new keyboard type you'd like to use.

for wifi, try
sudo rfkill list all
to see if anything is blocked.