1 reply to this topic

#1 Rewdan

Rewdan

• Members
  • 1 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 28 April 2015 - 12:42 PM

Hi,

Firstly, thank you for the Bodhi experience. I am new to Linux, and Bodhi is a great way into this new world for someone like me, wishing for the minimum of preinstalled applications - and wishing to explore the Enlightenment desktop.

My feedback is from the limited perspective of a new user.

Desktop experiences

I have had a go with E19 (not E17) - on Bodhi 3 x64 - and loved the iBar. I note the recent 'hot' discussion thread 'E17 vs E19 - Which are you using and why?' I am not in a position to evaluate on this - but I just did want to emphasise that the iBar in E19, for me,  is impressive. 

I also tried the KDE4 and Gnome3 desktops - although only really experimented somewhat with KDE (since my sense was I would need to install extensions to get Gnome3 to a worthwhile place).  I couldn't really get icon placements reliably right on the KDE taskbar, or centered; otherwise KDE seems OK.

Operating system experience

Initially, just to enable an installation layout I wanted, I did do a lot of work at the command line with LVM/ext4. (I do remember that I needed to do a lot of stuff manually before using the expert, 'something else', installer because the Ubuntu installer wasn't LVM friendly - unless you did an install with the pre-configured Ubuntu LVM assumptions!).