Photo

Screen flickering sometimes on Lenovo Idea Pad 110

screen issue Stoney Ridge AMD APU screen flickering

Best Answer The waiter, 02 February 2017 - 05:45 PM

We have been chasing the culprit long time. It would be fine if you could reproduce moksha restart always after specific action in order to simulate it here and try to track down the issue...Anyway after todays debate with Jeff we have a suggestion. If you will able to force restart by purpose, try installing another theme. Maybe the issue could be theme related. Just an idea... Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Indraraja Purbosatryo

Indraraja Purbosatryo

• Members
  • 20 posts
  • LocationJogjakarta, Central Java, Indonesia

Posted 28 January 2017 - 12:10 PM

Hi lovely fellas!

I'm new to Bodhi and Linux environment as well.
And I've got to say, Bodhi is just have its own uniqueness and I love it.

I have Lenovo IdeaPad 110 (this laptop has an AMD 7th Gen APU A9-9400) running on Bodhi 4.0.0 64 bit and Linux kernel 4.9.5.
I noticed my screens got flickering sometimes, on random event.

What I mean with this "flicker" is the screen got "flashing" and there is some random RGB color popped out on my screen. But this is happen less than one second. Nearly similar when you don't properly plug your VGA cable.
I'm sorry I couldn't provide you with some screenshot since it happened sporadically. Even a simple mouse movement would make the screen got flicker.

I really don't know where to start.
I mean, some BASH script to provide you guys here with more specific log or stuff like that.
Maybe you guys could help me out?

Thanks in advance, any help would be much appreciated. :)

[PS]
Since I have Stoney Ridge AMD GPU, I will try updating into the latest Mesa. I don't know if it will be working or not. I will post about it later. I will try to do sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade also.