Hello and thanks

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 makarovnik

makarovnik

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 February 2017 - 07:39 AM

Hi. My name is Mak and I live in the Seattle area. I'm relatively new to Linux but have a fair amount of experience working with Windows and was trained on a VAX/VMS system many years ago.

Ever since my W7 updates stopped working and  I was pushed to install W10, I've been searching for a lightweight OS to install on my desktop PCs (some old and some new).

I've tried many linux distros and right now I really like Bodhi, Puppy and Xubuntu. I would love it if I could edit the main menus in Bodhi the way I could in Puppy. Just for example, when I installed Synaptic it ended up in the menu category "Preferences". Sorry that's a topic for another thread.

Anyway, so far so good. I downloaded the basic 32 bit version, did a custom install and loaded the programs I like.

Thank you for creating and maintaining this OS,

Mak

"Once I dreamed I was Hitler; ruler of the sea, ruler of the world... ruler of the supermarket". - Poly Styrene

A big thank you to everyone who contributes to Bodhi Linux

#2 Jeff

Jeff

Lead Developer

• Developer
  • 12328 posts
  • LocationBloomington, IL

Posted 01 February 2017 - 07:49 AM

Welcome to the boards mate.

Moksha uses a menu system similar to all the other Linux desktops, you can control which files end up where by editing the desktop files. Feel free to open a suuport thread if you need some help with that.

#3 makarovnik

makarovnik

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 February 2017 - 08:09 AM

Thanks, I was wondering if that was the way to do it. I assumed "System", "System Tools", or "Setup" was listed as a category in that particular .desktop file; and if those categories didn't exist it would create one rather than putting it in "Preferences" which seems like a weird place for it.