• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mariom

mariom

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 August 2017 - 04:02 AM

Hello,

I am new to this distro, I installed it but every time i run the system updated or bodhi appcenter it will not work, get an error message saying i need to run sudo dpkg etc, so I was looking to use root but can not even logon with it does not exist, also can not get a terminal so I can use command line.

would you please give me some directions or tell me how to resolve this issues? i really like how Bodhi looks like is very light and runs fast on my old laptop i really want to keep bodhi.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Mario

A big thank you to everyone who contributes to Bodhi Linux

#2 birdmun

birdmun

• Members
  • 390 posts
  • LocationWabash, IN

Posted 03 August 2017 - 04:55 AM

Terminology is the default terminal program installed. The quickest way to get to Terminology would be the Windows key + Spacebar to bring up Run Everything then just start typing terminology. Ubuntu and most(?) derivatives do not include a root account. sudo is the preferred method of running applications with elevated privileges. If you wanted to go old school you could even hit Ctrl + Alt + F1 and log in to a virtual terminal and run things from there. If you go that route, Ctrl + Alt + F7 will get you back to the desktop. When you are finished in the virtual terminal it would be a good thing to log out by typing exit, I believe.

#3 sef

sef

Bodhi Builder Wizard

• Developer
  • 322 posts
  • LocationATL

Posted 03 August 2017 - 10:27 AM

every time i run the system updated or bodhi appcenter it will not work, get an error message saying i need to run sudo dpkg etc 

What is the specific 'sudo dpkg etc' command? The error/warning that is thrown out there is meant to help you fix what's wrong.