• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 lordvader1971

lordvader1971

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • LocationVT

Posted 21 September 2017 - 04:16 PM

Hello everyone! I am new here and to Linux. I am a student in a degree program and have decided to broaden my horizons. I have scoured the internet and have stalked these very forums but have come up empty on my exact situation. I am trying to breathe life into an older laptop of mine to quite simply, learn Linux on my own. My issues are these:

• The machine has a formatted HDD and I have no install media for the original OS nor do I wish to install the original.
  • The machine has and old bios that doesn't allow booting from USB.
  • The machine only has a floppy drive and no CD/DVD Rom

The laptop is an older Panasonic Toughbook CF28. 1 Gig, 512 G Ram, 20 G HDD. I know it's not the latest and greatest but I can't risk playing around with my newer laptop at this time. I want to install Bodhi on the Toughbook but am having issues finding the exact solution to going about it successfully. 

I have the HDD formatted to FAT32 and do have an IDE to USB adapter if I could figure out how to install it through my main system without potentially turning my newer computer into a dual boot machine.

I also have a working 3.5 drive but am not finding bootable install media for Bodhi.

I would love to get the old Panny up and running but might be barking up the wrong tree. Any input/guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks all in advance.

A big thank you to everyone who contributes to Bodhi Linux

#2 graywizardlinux

graywizardlinux

Bodhi Supporter

• Members
  • 1077 posts

Posted 21 September 2017 - 04:41 PM

if you have usb get a cheap memorex $32 usb cd/dvd writer/player.  burn the bodhi iso onto cd/dvd.  set bios to boot from usb - you should be fine unless there are other issues that people know about re: old systems.

#3 birdmun

birdmun

• Members
  • 419 posts
  • LocationWabash, IN