New to Linux, installing on MacBook

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Mendiculus

Mendiculus

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 December 2017 - 02:35 AM

I've been in the Macintosh environment exclusively for going on 30 years, since I got my first Mac Plus in 1988. I'm more knowledgeable than most Mac users, and made my living for some 15 years providing Mac support; however, I have little experience with CLI procedures or suchlike, as are commonly used in Linux – and I guess, by some in Windows. I've been thinking for some years about getting into Linux (I did manage to install Ubuntu on an iBook some years back, but never went further into it), and as a Buddhist was charmed to discover recently the Bodhi distro, so thought I'd give it a look.

Unfortunately, I haven't gotten far, as I've run into a couple of problems; so I thought I'd check in and ask. 

Following the Installation Instructions Wiki, I downloaded the bodhi-4.4.0-64.iso via torrent, and the bodhi-4.4.0-64.iso.md5 file, and placed both in the Downloads folder in my MacBook Pro (MacOS 10.12). 

I expect the .iso is probably okay, but figured since I'm new at this, I should do everything step by step, to learn all I can. 

So following Step C, I opened the Terminal application (included in MacOS), and navigated to the Downloads folder. I entered the command cat bodhi-4.4.0-64.iso.md5, and it showed a long string, presumably the checksum in the .md5 file. I then entered the command md5sum bodhi-4.4.0-64.iso, which I presume should match the checksum in the .md5 file with that in the .iso file; but Terminal responded: -bash: md5sum: command not found. I also tried the command in Step 7.5: md5sum -c bodhi-4.4.0-64.iso.md5; but the result was the same.