vvkozmenko

Swapping hard drives

Hi, guys,

Last night I watched an informative video on how to build a PC

I've never built a PC by myself before, so I have a question: when I build a PC and install an OS on the hard drive, will installation of the OS make any changes in the BIOS?

I am considering the following plan:

1. Build a PC

2. Install Windows on the HDD (to run photo editing software)

3. Take the HDD out and replace it with another blank HDD

4. Install Linux on that HDD

Linux will be used for daily use, and Windows will be reserved exclusively for photo editing.  Will this work? Part of me says that it should while the other part says that there might be some problems with BIOS or whatever?

Maybe someone who has build PCs before can advice?

If the answer is that there will be no problem, I will need to find a way to easily swap drives, Are the drives prone to shortcuts with static electricity too? Do I need to ground myself each time when I swap HDDs? Ideally, I would love to have a flip switch to select from which HDD to boot but I am not sure if this solution even exists.

Thank you in advance,

Val

WHY NOT JUST INSTALL BOTH HARD DRIVES AND DUAL BOOT?  YOU WILL BE ABLE TO CHOOSE WHICH OS TO BOOT AT START UP.

YES IT IS RECOMMENDED TO GROUND YOURSELF WHENEVER YOU WORK INSIDE THE PC CASE.  

Hi, guys,

Last night I watched an informative video on how to build a PC

I've never built a PC by myself before, so I have a question: when I build a PC and install an OS on the hard drive, will installation of the OS make any changes in the BIOS?

I am considering the following plan:

1. Build a PC

2. Install Windows on the HDD (to run photo editing software)

3. Take the HDD out and replace it with another blank HDD

4. Install Linux on that HDD